Skip to content

Busy Mum – Juggling 2 Businesses and her Family

July 4, 2011

Hi my name is Fiona Parry and I am 43. I am a Catering Manager at a junior school and cook dinners for 200 children every day.

I joined Jamie at Home in November 2009 and have just joined Scentsy a couple of weeks ago.

Jamie at Home is Jamie Oliver’s party plan business, I joined Jamie at Home as it seemed to offer great quality products at reasonable prices and as a Chef I love all things to do with the kitchen. The fact that we offer lots of other products for the home too is fantastic; there really is something for everyone (even the kids) We have great offers for the party host, they can earn products for free and get special discounted items so a great reason for getting your friends together.

I have joined Scentsy with my daughter who really loves the products, they are a very safe alternative to fragranced candles and have just launched here in the UK. We sell Scentsy warmers which use a heating element to gently melt specially formulated wax and with 50 fragrances to choose from there is something for everyone.

I don’t believe you have to stick at one business to be successful, but choose wisely and you will have something to offer everyone.

Most of the parties I book are weekday evenings but I love working in a school as I can book parties at other times during the holidays, coffee mornings are great, mum’s can get together while the kids play.

I quite often take part in local events or pamper days which can be a great way of meeting new people, customers and possible recruits.

The most challenging part I find to the party plan business is booking extra parties, making bookings at a party is fine but I have had some great ideas from the Party Plan Guru and am actively putting these in to practice to fill my diary up for the summer.

My business has grown steadily and I have a great customer base. Do keep in contact with your customers and follow up your parties with a phone call to the host to check she received all the orders ok.

If you are looking to start a home shopping business then chose something you love it will be much easier to sell if you are passionate about it.

The party plan Guru gave me some great advice about continuing to talk to at least one person each day. Remember how you spoke to everyone you met when you first started in your business.

Give out samples if appropriate to show prospective customer what you do. Always have a catalogue or business cards to hand.

Websites

www.jamieathome.me/fionaparry

FB page

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pages/Jamie-at-Home-Horley-Area/338493845844

 

www.dee-lighted.scentsy.co.uk

FB page http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/home.php?sk=group_104378589653847&ap=1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

