Skip to content

June 27, 2011

Suzannah Butcher – Independent Phoenix Trader ID 19809

I joined Phoenix Trading in April 2008 when I was on maternity leave with my daughter who was 9 months old at the time – I also have a son who was 2 when I joined.

I wasn’t particularly looking for a work from home job as I was returning to a part time employed role, but after ‘discovering’ Phoenix cards I looked further into the opportunity of selling them and the idea of running my very own business really appealed to me.  It was the product in particular that clinched it for me, as the cards are such good quality, are unique and of course great value for money.  My main concern really was that I wouldn’t be able to ‘sell’, as I am not a hard sell kind of person and shy away from pushy sales people myself.  What I have realised over the past few years is actually with a product that is top notch you don’t need to sell.  You just show people what you are offering in the best possible way and this bundled with lots of enthusiasm ensures the product sells itself.  I have found that my Phoenix display stands at events always get lots of coo’s, ooo’s and ahh’s!

The thing I love most about working from home is the flexibility.  I have had months where I have done very little with the business due to the usual up and downs of life, but because there are no targets I haven’t felt under pressure to achieve.  On the other hand of course you do need to be self-motivated as the cards won’t sell if they are left in a box in a cupboard! It is great that I rarely miss school events and activities as I work around my family, which is something that was really important to me once I had the children.  I tend to do most of my work when the children are at school/pre-school and in the evening and can also sneak the odd bit of work in when they are watching a movie at home.  They have both been known to help me stick labels on brochures for me and help me make up orders, which is lovely as they feel like they are helping Mummy’s business.

Social media has been a fantastic tool to my business and it’s great that I can use this to my advantage by blogging about working from home – I also use Facebook and Twitter.

To sell the products I also do coffee and cards mornings, events such as school fetes and table top sales, e-parties, e-mail orders, basket drops and postal orders. I pass brochures and supplements to people as often as I can and find that word of mouth is a really good way to increase my customer base.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend party plan/direct selling to anyone, but would say that you have to be enthusiastic about the product you are selling; it is inevitable that as with any business, some weeks can be more challenging than others. With a good product and support you can take party plan wherever you want to go!  Staying positive is also a must – it is vital to remember that you are a reflection of your product; a smile can go a long way to help people to remember you.

If you would like to find out more about being an Independent Phoenix Trader please get in touch, I would love to hear from you and answer any queries you might have.  I have traders in my team throughout the UK and am also looking for traders in France, New Zealand, USA and Australia.

Web: http://www.phoenix-trading.eu/web/suzannah
Blog: http://www.suzannahscards.co.uk
Mail: Suzannah.phoenix@gmail.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

