Skip to content

Truly, Madly Baby

June 20, 2011

Your Name (and age if you wish to disclose it): 

Susan Hopkins  – 42

Company name and nature of business:

Truly Madly Baby.  We sell a unique collection of products for babies, toddlers and kids up to the age of 11.  Our range covers mealtime, bath time, sleep time, play time, out and about and essentials & safety items.

When did you start your business?

January 2006

I was in Retail banking for 7 years, a stint on the checkouts at Tesco followed by a few years in mobile communications and then administration in investment banking.  My last employment before becoming fully self-employed was in administration in the NHS.

My business is perfect to allow me to work and be that full-time mum I wanted. My eldest started school last September and my youngest is 2 and a quarter so I get to spend time with the kids during the day and then go out to work in the evenings or do events at the weekend when they get to spend time with Daddy.  It also means I can volunteer time to help out with the pre-school and school committees.

Truly Madly Baby have no monthly targets, so if family life needs to take over, then I don’t have to worry about not meeting a sales target or losing out in anyway.

Finally as I sell products for babies and children, I have the perfect product testers at home and my daughter loves getting deliveries from Truly Madly Baby so she can see what is in there for her to try out!

Truly Madly Baby was a new company when I started. People hadn’t heard about us or knew what we offered so getting people interested enough to book a party or sign up as a consultant took a while in the beginning.  But that was 4 years ago and I am pleased to say that has changed a lot!

I was one of 11 consultants when I started. Now I am the Manager of the south of England with over 80 consultants in my team alone!

If you are not sure which company to join, research them well beforehand.  Decide what is the most important aspect for you.  Do you want products that will sell easily?  High commission rates? Are you comfortable with having to reach targets?  Or do you want to join a particular company because you love the products and want to get lots of them free!

I chose Truly Madly Baby because I have two children and I know that I can use the products and relate to the needs of other mums.  I don’t wear make up or create masterpieces in the kitchen so those types of company didn’t appeal.  I also didn’t know how much time I would be able to spend on the business as my daughter was only 3 months old at the time I joined so not having to work to targets was also really appealing.

Talk to your friends about it before signing up.  They will probably be the easiest place to get your first bookings and if you know that a couple of them will definitely host a party for you when you start, it will help build your confidence (and your business) quickly.

Do you have any tips for success?

Treat your business as a business and not a hobby.  You do need to put in time and effort to build it up.

Set up a work schedule – plan your week or month to know when you are going to work and what you will do on certain days. It will help you focus and keep on top of everything.

Don’t be afraid of the word NO!  Just because someone says they don’t want a party right now, it doesn’t mean never.  It might be that the time isn’t right for them now.

Don’t forget your after sales care.  Most business comes from repeat bookings or sales.  Make sure your existing customers feel valued.

What have you found helpful from The Party Plan Guru?

I’ve only just found your site but I am looking forward to reading your tips on how to improve my business, not just for me but for my team

Your website link and contact details: 

www.trulymadlybaby.co.uk

sue@trulymadlybaby.co.uk

07770 782150

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

