Skip to content

Street Date – Getting people to fall in love

June 16, 2011

Good Morning everyone, I have woken up in a great mood this morning and to be honest that is not something I always do, I am NOT a morning person. Being in this mood has made me look at things a lot better about me, my business and how I am going to tackle the everyday life of being  my own boss. After talking to someone the other day I was going to really get out of my comfort zone and really do something different over the next couple of weeks. To be honest, I have been to a couple of events recently and found that they were not getting the maximum potential or reaction as I normally do.

it is all good going to events and trying to get the information out of people about having a party booking or even sometimes getting them to fill out a Prize Draw form. So if I am standing in a school hall for a couple of hours talking to people who are not that keen on having a party and just browsing, or have just come as it is a night out away from the kids and don’t intend to purchase anything, Why am I wasting my time?? Most of the time I am not wasting my time and events are great but at the moment they seem to be going a bit stale, so what should I be doing to make sure I am getting out to people and not spending a fortune on events that have not been so good???

STREET DATING???????

Ok now I am married so I shouldn’t really be saying dating and I am not going out there looking for Mr Party Plan Guru (I have one already) but I hope to be making some people fall in love………….with my products and of course me.

For those of you that are like me and find talking to people easy you should not have to worry about what I am going to say, but for those of you that have a hard time talking to random people and don’t have the confidence, don’t worry I will tell you how.

Street Prospecting, as it is called, is such a great way to be able to get people’s attention about your products and also about you. I have to say I have run away from people who are in their big jackets and their clip boards wanting me to give money to charity but this is nothing like that.

The best way to be able to get the most out of your time spent on the street (not as in Pretty Women) is to take a couple of samples with you that you know are popular and also to create a questionnaire for them to answer the questions that you want to know. I take a couple of items along and ask them

  • what prices they think they are,
  • if they like the item,
  • have then seen anything like it before
  • if they have heard of my business before,
  • if they have been to or had a party in their home.
  • I get name and email and telephone number from them and if they would be interested in having a party.

Your questions should be quick and concise as you do not want to hang on to them for too long. At the end of the questionnaire I then Thank them for taking the time to answer my questions and provide them with a voucher. These Vouchers are done by myself that provide them with an extra 5% off their order if they hold a party in certain months. Also make sure that they have your details as well by providing them with your business card and mentioning that if they did not want a party they could order directly off the website or contact your facebook page.

If you are a person that is reading this thinking that there is no way that I will be able to do this then think about it this way:

  • You are not selling anything – other than the lovely person that you are
  • You are asking people’s opinions
  • You are making them aware of your fantastic business
  • Potential party bookings/Potential Recruits

when ever I do something like this I have to remind myself that the more people I talk to in a happy manner, the more people will know about my business. Don’t set yourself up too high and expect loads straight away. The fact that you have been out there is great and you will notice that you might be getting online sales or even an increase in your facebook page.

if you don’t fancy going out there on your own, involve your upline manager or other recruits to go along with you and then have a coffee afterwards and discuss how it went. You should not go out every week but once a month is enough for you to get the contacts and also make the party bookings.

If you would like more information on this then please get in touch at thepartyplanguru@hotmail.co.uk

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 11:25 am

    Great idea….. I am going to give this a go and suggest it at our team meeting.

    • June 16, 2011 2:16 pm

      Thats great news, you can always go out with a couple of people or even divide your area up into sections and make it a competition to see who can get the most.

  2. June 17, 2011 7:30 am

    Street Dating…

    What a great idea! I’m waiting on some materials, and have a very similar plan that I’ll be using. I don’t know a lot of people, so I’m using it as a way to get out there and meet people to introduce my business. I also believe this is a great exercise in helping fellow party planners get over the “fear of hearing no”…and to not take a ‘no’ or a ‘blank’ personally. It’s just about timing. That’s how I look at it…it wasn’t the right time for them to hear about my business…so I leave them with a smile and a positive vibe and think..neeeexxxt!

Leave a Reply

