Skip to content

Vicky is a Little BookWorm

May 23, 2011

My name is Vicky and I’m an Usborne Books at Home Organiser.

I decided to join Usborne after I’d had my son, because I didn’t want to go back to full time work.

I had toyed with the idea of doing some kind of direct selling/party plan type business, but I didn’t want to be traipsing round the streets delivering and collecting catalogues and orders…I had more important things to do like go to Mum & Baby groups! And to be honest, I’m not good at selling, I don’t like to be pushy, and I’m not as outgoing as some of the other party hosts I’ve encountered.

I’d looked into a number of companies, but when I saw what Usborne had to offer, I really couldn’t wait to join!  The start up fee was low compared to some others (because let’s face it, who has a lot of spare cash once your little one has arrived?), plus you have the opportunity to earn your start up fee back in your first six weeks. The commission structure was fantastic (always a bonus when you’re after some extra cash!) And it also meant that I could earn free books for my family.

The products themselves are beautiful, and well known in parenting circles (Unless you have no contact whatsoever with small children, you’ll certainly of hear of the That’s Not My… range of books!)

Plus, as it was a children’s product, I was aiming to contact other parents, and what better way to do that, than at Mum & Baby groups, and other toddler groups that I was going to with my little one anyway!

A year on, and I’ve won an award for Top New Organiser in my division, and have boxes and boxes of books (most of them free!) I’m also aiming for some of the incentives on offer this year. But that’s another great thing about Usborne; there are no targets, no minimum sales. It’s up to you. It’s your business. Now I have events that I have to turn down because I’m already booked! I’ve started building my own team of organisers too, so hopefully, they’ll be able to help with events now.

I’ve only recently stumbled across The Party Plan Guru, but the information and advice on there is some of the best I’ve come across. There are some really useful tips for party plan organisers – and it applies to all levels, not just those already at the top of their chosen business!

Just this evening I went along to a party that I’d had booked for a while. Only 3 people turned up – and one of them was me! So I’d done my homework, and put my best effort in and I came away with over £120 of sales, plus 3 more party bookings! I’d call that a result!

And all this from someone who is not great at selling!

If you would like more information about joining my Usborne team please take a look at my website www.usborneonline.org/vickymarsh, my Facebook page www.facebook.com/LittleBookworms or by emailing my at vickylee0207@sky.com

If you would like to be featured on The Party Plan Guru Pages like Vicky has then please email thepartyplanguru@hotmail.co.uk we would love to hear from you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 4:13 pm

    Thanks Vicky for writing about you and your business, it sounds like you have found a business that works for you and you are loving everything about it.

Leave a Reply

