Skip to content

There Just Isn’t Enough Time In The Day!!!!

May 9, 2011

When I quit my 9-5 job (Ok, I was a Hotel Manager and I am lying if I said it was 9-5, more like 7am – 6pm or 2pm – I am not sure some nights!) I realised that I was not only doing it for my sanity but also that I would be able to see my little boy more. That is why people want to join Party Plan Businesses, they are fun, the products are lovely and it is a quality of life thing. Lets face it, we WORK TO LIVE NOT LIVE TO WORK – don’t we??

So How do you get that work/life balance and try to stay motivated when some days you just can’t seem to do it???????

I have asked myself this question many a time, I find myself working into the night because I have spent most of the day doing what I left my full-time job for, running around, cleaning up and looking after the child  I wanted to spend more time with. All sounds good, but when do I get time to earn the money I need to???

Party Plan/Direct Selling is one of the best jobs that I have ever done, and I have been doing it on and off now for about 10 years and one of the most commonly asked question I get emailed is “How do you stay so motivated?” So I will share with you how I am able to stay motivated and hopefully it will allow you to push through the hard days.

  1. Work to normal office hours – When I don’t have a party or a team meeting to attend in the evening I work during the day on the normal office hours (9-5) this way I know that people I need to speak to will be available to talk to me or if they do work in the day I will make a good 1/2 hour in the evening, once my son is in bed, to be able to call the people I could not get through to.
  2. Allow yourself time to work – I thought that working from home would be great as I could do it with a young child around, WRONG, I have realised that packing an order or making a phone call with a screaming child or one that wants to open everything is not that productive, so I opted for someone to look after my child for a couple of hours a day on a regular basis. If your kids go to school or can understand that “this is Mummy’s time, I have to work” set a side a time in your day when you are not to be disturbed.
  3. Write Lists – These have been amazing for my business, I am a very good organiser but I still have to write lists. It almost feels like a goal setting task for me. The night before I write down everything that I want to achieve with my business to following day (be realistic though!) This way at the end of the day I can see everything that I have achieved during the day. You will be amazed at what you are able to do if you set yourself a goal.
  4. Create A Wish List – I have a picture beside my computer that has everything that I want out of life, The Big House, the Private School For the Kids, A Sports Car, A Lovely Exotic Holiday Once A Year. It does not matter what it is just put it on there, cut pictures from magazines, off the internet, wherever you see what you want, trust me it works, you see it everyday and your mind will instantly click and say “well if I am not going to do it for myself, who will??
  5. Take Time Away – Staying motivated is a real challenge, especially with the distractions of the day but set aside time for yourself! I am the worst culprit for this but making time for yourself is the only way you will be rejuvenated to do great business. Whether you decide to have weekends to yourself or take a week off and go on holiday with your family, you really should do it. Your customers are not going to go anywhere if you let them know you are going on a well-earned break. That’s not to say you can’t have a few catalogues in your bag though!!!!!
  6. Ask For Help – You will have been recruited by someone and more than likely they are your manager, if you need a bit of motivation and help then why not speak to the best person. They will know your business and will be able to hopefully guide you and even come over for a coffee to get your motivation back. If not, ASK THE PARTY PLAN GURU you can call the office from 9am to 8pm Monday to Friday and also 10am – 2pm on a Saturday and we are happy to help and give you advise, you may even be speaking to The Party Plan Guru Herself!!!! Call 01202 896857.
  7. Getting Dressed – Now I thought working from home would mean that I would be able to stay in my pj’s all day and have a giggle to myself, when I was on a very important phone call, that I was still in my pj’s but unfortunately this does not help. I found that I would have less enthusiasm for the job in hand and that I would sit differently and come across as if I was not really bothered. I am not saying you have to get on the suit but getting dressed does put you in a business frame of mind.
  8. Mingle – For Party planners/Direct Sales Consultants this is what holds your business together. Having children does not decrease the amount of people you see. OK I lost a few friends when I started doing Party Plan as they thought I would hassle them for Parties, but I didn’t. Going to Networking events, Mother and Toddler Groups, Swimming Clubs etc is great, there are potential new customers at all of these places. The first time that you go you might, want to test the waters out and see what people’s response to it is. Get someone you know to sit with you and show them a catalogue or a product and before you know it, people will be asking you about your business and these are the customers that you want.
  9. Give Yourself a Deadline – If you say by the end of the week I will have spoken to X amount of people, do it. There is nothing stopping you other than yourself. When you worked in a job for a boss and they asked you to have that report done by Friday, would you do it?? Of course you would, you want to keep your job. It’s the same with working from home, you are the Manager, the Receptionist, The Accounts Department (probably a lot nicer though!!) and if you don’t get it done, it wont get done.
  10. Clear Your Space and It will Clear Your Mind – From time to time my work space gets extremely messy, I have letters and print outs and emails all over my desk and I have to say when I look at it I just can’t be bothered to work. Staring at the pile in front of you wont get it moved and you will find that it holds you back. If you have a messy desk or draw as you are reading this, clear it up! You will find that you will be more productive with a clear space to be able to work in. A cluttered desk = a Cluttered mind and no business needs that! I am sure Lord Alan Sugar has a clear desk, OK he probably has someone to do it, but you know what I am getting at.

I hope that this has helped you to push passed the chaos and allow you to believe in yourself that you are good at what you do, so keep doing it. If you have just changed one thing that you do and it has been successful to you, then my work here is done!!

I look forward to hearing from you all soon and you can always speak to us by emailing us on thepartyplanguru@hotmail.com or call the office on 01202 896857.

The Party Plan Guru xx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

